Grouping Students

Use the Groups Tool to release content, and facilitate group assignments.

Students Automatic Groups

Groups in delivery spaces are created either automatically or manually.

This guide explains automatic groups created by Allocate+ based on the student's selection in Timetable. Enrollments and details of the automatic groups should not be manually modified to remain intact and identical to the enrollment information in Allocate+.

Important Note: Changing the name, the enrollments or other details of an automatic groups will cause major errors during the synchronizing process with Allocate+. Please make sure not to manually edit these groups. You can always contact ITS if you have any concerns related to the automatic groups details. 

Note: to learn about manual groups see Creating Manually Allocated Groups.

 

How does Allocate+ group students?


After enrolling in a unit, students are required to manage their timetable by selecting Lectures, Seminars and Tutorials among the available ones in Allocate+.

According to the offered lectures/seminars/tutorials, the system creates automatic groups, i.e. one group per lecture or seminar or tutorial.

Once students make a selection, the system automatically enrols them in the correspondent groups according to their selection.

Every time students change their selection, the system removes them from previously selected groups and reallocates them to the new groups.

A student can only be allocated in one Lecture group and one tutorial group at a time.

 

Access Allocate+ Groups


1. Select Groups from the Communication menu.

 

Groups under Communication Menu

 

2. Determine the category of the groups you wish to view by selecting the Lecture/Seminar or Tutorial from the drop down list.

 

Manage Groups

 

3. The list of all groups available per the selected category will be displayed along with the number of students enrolled within each group.

 

available groups

 

View Groups Details and Permissions


1. Click the name of the group in the list.

 

2. Click View Enrolment.

 

3. A list of all students enroled in the group will be displayed.

 

 enrollment

 


Please make sure not to change the name of an automatic group, as this will cause out of sync errors and will result in major problems.

Although you can edit the details and enrolments of automatic groups or even delete them,  all changes will be lost next time the synchronisation process with Allocate+ runs.

Tip: The Synchronisation process takes place on daily basis to ensure all automatic groups details are according to the student's latest enrolment and timetable selection. This process overrides all manual modifications. However, if the name of the group is changed major errors would occur.

Groups Permissions

Groups permissions vary depending on the user's role within the delivery space. Convenors, Instructors and College Coordinators can access all groups within the space automatically. As for Students, Tutors and Guest Instructors, they can only access the particular group they are enrolled in. 


Further Support

Visit the VU Collaborate Help site at https://vucollaboratehelp.vu.edu.au for up to date information and resources on blended learning or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Contact ITS Service Desk on (03) 9919 2777 or via self-service http://servicedesk.vu.edu.au for further technical support.